Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta Running A Coastal Series


The Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta is running a coastal series as part of the fifth edition of the combined Club’s event and judging by entries to date (see below) there it looks like the initiative is getting a good response.

Entry in the class this year is expected to reach approximately 15 boats with the list of entries to date below.

Some say organisers are on the right tack with the new coastal course and may have in fact underestimated demand from crews looking for a change of scene.

There are plenty of standard cruiser designs not suited to prevailing tight inshore courses and who cannot compete on handicap with some of the out and out racing machines. Instead this coastal series will accommodate those larger cruisers who prefer to take part in races where the distances between marks are greater.

Already DBSC regular Lively Lady, a Beneteau 44.7 is signed up as well as the Nicholson 58 Rebellion. Smaller boats are also involved including Lulabelle, the Beneteau 36.7.

It is hoped that this will attract the increasing number of boats that are opting to race offshore as evidenced in part by the work of Peter Ryan running a 20-boat ISORA fleet from the National Yacht Club.

The courses for the VDLR series will take place outside of the Burford Bank and in an area north of the “Bray Outfall” buoy and south of the “North” Howth Yacht Club race mark.

The courses will be set on the day of the July race and will reflect the conditions prevailing at that time, boats will race one long race per day.

Ashore the plan is those taking part in the Coastal Series will be able to enjoy the fantastic social scene around Dun Laoghaire as much as their inshore competitors as the race duration and time limits will get all boats back at the same time as the inshore fleets.

Boat Name    Boat Make     Owner     Club
Polished Manx  Sigma 33 OOD  Kuba Szymanski  Douglas Bay YC IOM
Rebellion  Nicholson 58  Hughes/Hanlon/O’Mahony  National YC
Lula Belle  Beneteau First 36.7  Liam Coyne  National YC
Ulula III  Corby 36  Nick Ogden  Liverpool YC
Lively Lady  First 44.7  Derek Martin  Royal Irish YC
Adelie  Beneteau First 34.7  Peter Hall  National YC
Lady Rowena  Sadler  David Bolger  Royal St George YC
Aquelina  J122  Sheila Tyrrell/James Tyrrell  Arklow SC
Tsunami  Beneteau First 40.7  Vincent Farrell  National YC
Soufriere  Spirit Yacht  Stephen OFlaherty  Royal Irish YC

Thank you to our friends at for the above article and David O’ Brien for the photo.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email