Phantom Wins 2013 National Dragon Championship


Overall results Dragon National Championship 2013, held in the RIYC 8-11 August & event report.

After seven races over four days, new Irish Dragon National Champions 2013 are Neil Hegarty, Peter Bowring and Ruan O’Tiarnaigh of the RStGYC. Second place went to Kin with Simon Brien, Mark Brien and David Gomes RNIYC, and third to Chimaera with Andrew Craig, Brian Matthews and Mark Pettitt RStGYC. The 2013 Dragon National Championship was held in the RIYC.

The racing in Dublin Bay during the four days was in great but challenging conditions. The whole fleet finished within minutes in every race. With three boats in contention going into the last two races on the Sunday 11 August, the final results were not established until the last rounding and the last beat.

The Finnegans Cup – best overall on the last race day – went to Kin.
The Chimaera Cup – best overall without a place in the top five – went to Tenacious, helmed by Anthony O’Neill and crewed by Shawn Kingston and Eoghan O’Neill, KYC.
The newly established Corinthian Cup for best overall amateur was won by Phantom, Neil Hegarty/Peter Bowring/Ruan O’Tiarnaigh RStGYC.

Other news: Garry Treacy in IRL 198 Dublin Bay, with Down O’Dowd and Peter McGuire, will be the only Irish boat travelling to the Dragon Worlds in Weymouth 5-13 September. More about the Dragon Worlds here:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email