Sailing Oscars – Nominations so far for 2023

It is early days yet but the nominations are starting to come in, thank you to those who have provided nominations so far, and congratulations to those nominated below. This page will be updated with more details and nominees soon, so please feel free to make your nomination here:

Commodore’s Cup (Best Offshore Performance)

Ian Bowring – challenges encountered and overcome competing in D2D

John White – helm and watch captain on Opal for D2D

Vice Commodore’s Cup (Significant Dinghy Performance) 

RSGYC Laser/ ILCA Master’s team – trip to Spain – excellent results posted and a general joie de vivre (or voile) 

John Sheehy – Melges 15 class – new to club and country and huge enthusiasm for the new fleet

RSGYC Water Wag class – David Williams and Co for building one of the largest classic boat one design fleets in Dublin Bay

Sean Craig – ILCA Sailor 

Ali Robinson – ILCA Sailor

The Water Wags who traveled to Brittany – Richard Mossop, Henry Rooke, Tim and Gillian Pearson, Justin Geoghan, Alison Hackett, David Williams and Jeremy Crean, Mandy and Jamie Chambers.

George Jesters (Formerly UCD Firsts) – First Irish team to win the Oxford Top Gun Invitational and first Irish team in 53 years to win the BUSA Intervarsity Finals. Jack Fahy, Liam Glynn, Tom Higgins, Cian Lynch, Emily Riordan, Kathy Kelly & Triona Hinkson

O’Hanlon Cup (Best Cruise)

Derek Ryan – Homecoming Odyssey of Brizo 

Paul Conway & Crew– Cevantes epic cruising journey

Crawford family and Others – Family flotilla holiday

Tony Linehan – (ICC Rally) Corfu – Madeira – Galicia

D’Arcy Family – Mediterranean Cruise

Enriquetta Cup (Significant Keelboat Performance)

Dragon – Phantom and crew- winner of Volvo DLRegatta 2023 and East Coast Championship

Brian Denham

RSGYC Jeorgettes

Causeway Trophy (For Sportsmanship) 

Elmo Trophy Organising Committee 

St Andrew’s College Team Racing and Inaugural Alumni Event

Brian Denham

WeSail organisers – Maeve Robinson and Duncan Lyster

Sailability Co-ordinator – Maeve O’Brien

Peter Bowring – for his never-failing help and support for the Club

Kate Fogarty – “There isn’t a question we’ve had that Kate can’t answer! She has been a huge factor in us feeling so welcome in the Club”  (New Member)

Youth Trophy (Significant contribution to the Club by a Youth Sailor) 

Russell Bolger and Louis McGovern – All Ireland Junior Helmsmans Champions, 1st place team in Elmo Trophy, ITRA Championships and 1st Youth team in 2023 Volvo DLR SB20’s

Lucia Cullen and Alana Twomey – 29er ISAF representatives and European Womens Champions

Fiachra Geraghty-McDonnell – IS ILCA Academy member and ISAF representative

Emily and Jessica Riordan – National Female 29er Championships and Vice World 29er Championships

Tom Higgins – Match Racing Nationally and Internationally

Waterfront Award (Significant Contributions to the sport of sailing)

Brian Denham -A lifetime of enthusiasm and love for the Club, Dublin Bay racing, Glens and great Sportsmanship.

Robbie Walker

David Williams – Water Wags

Kate Fogarty –  for her positivity and support of every level of sailor, young and old.

Ailbe Millerick – “he has worked beyond belief to keep Team Racing alive in the George and has reinvigorated the Glen Class”

We are very proud of all of our  RSGYC members nominated and ask for your support to vote for them now or to make your own nominations.

Please click on the link below, it will take 30 seconds. Please also pass this on so that we can give all the support available to all of our fantastic RSGYC sailors.

Click here to vote now

Print Friendly, PDF & Email