Annual Sailing Awards – our ‘Sailing Oscars’ Award Winners of 2023

The Awards are a celebration of the Royal St George Yacht Clubs Sailing Achievements of 2023, and of the members of the Royal St George Yacht Club.  All winners are congratulated by the Sailing Committee in recognizing them as RStGYC Sailors & Club members with significant achievements during 2023. The event was attended by over 80 guests including award nominees across seven prize categories. 

The event celebrated a busy and very successful 2023 for the club both on and off the water highlights of which included the hosting of the ILCA  Masters National Championships, the Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta, The Waszp National Championships, Schools Leinster Team Racing Championships, the All Ireland Schools Team Racing Championships, the 31.7 National Championships, SB20 East Coast Championships, Friday evening racing, Fun Fridays, the RSGYC Junior Regatta, the Melges 15’s and ILCA End of Season regatta… to mention a few.

The winners of 2023 RSGYC Annual Sailing Awards are:

Commodore’s Cup (Best Offshore Performance)

Ian Bowring abord his Sigma 33  ‘Springer’ for many challenges encountered and overcome during the Dun Laoghaire to Dingle Race (D2D).

Vice-Commodore’s Cup (Significant Dinghy Performance)

The George Jesters

George Jesters (formerly UCD) – the most successful year ever for an Irish university sailing team. Their results in 2023 are as follows: First ever Irish team to win the prestigious oxford top gun, resulting in the 2024 version being the first time that two Irish teams receive invitation First Irish team in 53 years to win the British University Sailing Association team racing finals (commonly known as “winning BUSA”) Along with being the best team in Ireland (ITRA champions) The team had single-handedly raised the bar of university team racing in Ireland both on and off the water, with 2 members of the team being crucial in the creation of the inaugural ‘ride-r cup’, the IUSA vs BUSA regatta. Jack Fahy – Liam Glynn – Tom Higgins – Cian Lynch – Emily Riordan – Kathy Kelly – Triona Hinkson


O’Hanlon Cup (Best Cruise of 2023)

Derek Ryan and his crew aboard Brizo, their homecoming odyssey from Spain. 


Enriquetta Cup (Significant Keelboat Performance) Phantom Crew – Dragon

Causeway Trophy (For Sportsmanship) Elmo Trophy  Organising  Committee

Youth Award (Significant contribution to the Club by a Youth Sailor) Emily and Jessica Riordan.

National Female 29er Champions and Vice World 29er Champions


The Kingstown Boat Club Cup (Significant International Performance) Lucia Cullen and Alana Twomey

29er ISAF representatives and European  Women’s Champions


Congratulations to all winners. Well done!

Click here for more photos of the evening.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email